Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR)
Division of Aquatic Resources (DAR)
State of Hawaii

Nonresident Recreational Marine Fishing License (NRMFL)
Frequently Asked Questions

Who needs a Nonresident Recreational Marine Fishing License (NRMFL)?
Nonresidents who wish to recreationally ocean fish in Hawai’i. Recreational fishing for residents
is still free and has no registration requirements.

When did this requirement become law?

In June 2021, Act 48 was passed into law, requiring nonresidents of Hawai‘i to obtain a
recreational marine fishing license to fish in Hawai‘i. This law has been codified at Hawaii
Revised Statutes (HRS) §188-72. The Department of Land and Natural Resources subsequently
adopted administrative rules to implement the NRMFL, Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR) §
13-74-11, which took effect on May 2, 2024.

Where can I apply for the Nonresident Recreational Marine Fishing License?
The Nonresident Recreational Marine Fishing License is only available online at:
http://fishing.hawaii.gov

What ages are required to have a Nonresident Recreational Marine Fishing License?
e Not Required: 14 years old and under
e Required: 15 years old and up.

How much does the Nonresident Recreational Marine Fishing License cost?
e 1 Day* - $20
e 7 Day - $40
e 1 Year-$70

Please note, this fee schedule does not include the online processing fee.

*one day is from 12am to 11:59pm on the day selected.

Is there an exemption for members of the military?
Yes, members of the U.S. armed forces on active duty in the State, as well as their spouses and
minor children, are exempt from having to possess a NRMFL when recreational marine fishing.

Is there an exemption for non-fishing passengers on a charter fishing trip?
All nonresident passengers on a fishing charter boat are advised to have a license, even if they
don’t intend to fish.
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http://fishing.hawaii.gov/

Can I change the day of the Nonresident Recreational Marine Fishing License?
Yes, you may change the effective date of your permit under these conditions:
e Deadline to make updates: 11:59 PM HST the day before your license's Effective Date.
e Changes are not permitted on the day your license goes into effect (Effective Date)
e Once the initial license's Effective Date passes, the "Change License Date" button will
disappear.
¢ You cannot change the date retroactively.
This is a one-time courtesy; be sure to verify the date before proceeding. No other exceptions are
allowed.

Is a screenshot or download copy in my mobile phone okay to carry?
A screenshot, pdf copy, or printed out hard copy are all acceptable forms to carry if asked to
show your license.

I’m a Hawai’i resident, how to I prove my residency?

The easiest way to demonstrate residency is to have a valid State ID, such as a Hawai‘i driver's
license. You can also demonstrate residency if you have a state tax return or an official document
issued to you at a Hawai’i address within the previous thirty days (for example: mail from a
government agency, financial institution, insurance company, or utility company).

Does the Nonresident Recreational Marine Fishing License cover fishing in streams, lakes,
and reservoirs?

The Nonresident Recreational Marine Fishing License is for fishing in ocean waters surrounding
the state. If fishing in freshwater for gamefish, you will need a Freshwater Game Fishing
License. Please refer to the Division of Aquatic Resources website below.

Where can I find all the fishing rules and regulations?
The Division of Aquatic Resources website: http://dInr.hawaii.gov/dar/

Is there a “How-To Guide” for help with navigating the licensing website?
Yes, this PDF guide serves as a tool for navigation and usage of the online license/permit
website.

Who can I contact if I still have questions?

Support Hours: Weekdays from 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM HST (excluding State holidays)
Email: FishinglLicense@hawaii.gov

Phone: (808) 587-0109
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