
* Complete this Form
* Review and sign the Commercial Marine Vessel License Specific Terms and Conditions (see reverse).
* Write your license number on check or money order payable to: Division of Aquatic Resources .
* Please send payment and form to: 

Check the License that you intend to apply/renew:

- You must have an active/valid Commercial Marine License.
- CMVL is non tranferable to another CML holder.
- CML holder can apply for more than one vessel license, please fill out one application per vessel.
- This is a two-step process, Commercial Marine License then Commercial Marine Vessel License.

CML No. Current Expiration Date

CMVL No. Expiration Date
(Same as CML exp date)

Last Name First Name Middle Name Suffix

Phone Number: (       ) EMAIL: 

Vessel Name Vessel length correct?

Expiration Date
HA - No. USCG No.

Signature: ________________________________________    Date: _____________________

Signature is required to renew license/permit, otherwise, the application will be returned.
Rev April 2025

COMMERCIAL MARINE VESSEL LICENSE (CMVL) NEW/RENEWAL APPLICATION FORM

DIVISION OF AQUATIC RESOURCES $100 non-longline vessel less than 22 feet in length
ATTN: STATS UNIT/Licensing $200 non-longline vessel 22 feet in length or greater1151 Punchbowl St. RM 330
Honolulu, HI  96813 $1,500 any length longline vessel

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT INFORMATION CLEARLY:

Terms and Conditions: I understand and agree to abide by all general terms and conditions of the license as specified in the General 
Terms and Conditions, on applicable Specific Terms and Conditions forms, and as may be provided elsewhere by law.  I understand that 
any violation of any term or condition of this license, including any misstatement of fact or circumstance, may result in the invalidation 
and/or revocation of this license, and the prosecution of an enforcement action against me as specified in the Hawaii Revised Statutes, 
Chapters 187A, 188, and 189.  In the event of any difference between the terms and conditions of this license, as stated above, and the 
applicable administrative rules or law, the rules and law shall apply.

My signature or electronic signature shall be considered as my agreement to comply with all requirements and may be recorded 
electronically through the Internet licensing application.  This procedure is deemed lawful under the Uniform Electronic Transactions 
Act, Section 489E, Hawaii Revised Statutes.

VESSEL INFORMATION

Office use only

HA -              -

Step One

Step Two

Commercial Marine Vessel 
License is only valid while 

Commercial Marine License 
is valid.



(updated 4/26/24) 

Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR) 
Division of Aquatic Resources 

State of Hawaii 
 

Commercial Marine Vessel License 
Specific Terms and Conditions 

 
The licensee refers to any person issued a commercial marine vessel license (CMVL) (§ 189-2, Hawaii 
Revised Statutes (HRS); § 13-74-23, Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR)). The commercial marine 
vessel license allows any person onboard a validly-licensed vessel to take marine life for commercial 
purposes. 
 
I understand that: 

1. Licenses are issued for a specific vessel and cannot be used to cover fishers onboard a 
different vessel. 

2. A valid CMVL shall satisfy the commercial marine license requirement for all persons 
taking marine life for commercial purposes aboard the validly-licensed vessel.   

3. I must pay a fee for the CMVL based on the length and use of my vessel as follows: 
a. $100 for a non-longline vessel less than 22 feet in length; 
b. $200 for a non-longline vessel 22 feet in length or greater; 
c. $1,500 for a longline vessel of any length. 

4. I must submit reports as required by my commercial marine license, for all fishing 
activity of all persons onboard. 

5. If I have a commercial marine vessel license for a longline vessel, I must file an annual 
report with the department that contains the following information about all crew 
members who worked aboard the longline vessel during the license period:  
a. Identity;  
b. Nationality;  
c. Arrival date in Hawai‘i  
d. Departure date; and  
e. Any other information the department may require. 
The longline report is due within 30 days of the end of the license period. 

6. If a CMVL is issued for a vessel providing charter services for the taking of marine life, 
the license shall satisfy the commercial marine license requirement for all crew members. 
The CMVL does not exempt charter fishing vessel passengers or customers from the 
requirement to have a nonresident recreational marine fishing license or any other license 
required by law. A “passenger” is any individual on board a vessel who is not a member 
of the vessel’s crew. 

7. If a vessel for which a CMVL is obtained is lost, destroyed, stolen, sold, transferred, or 
otherwise no longer in the possession or control of the licensee, the licensee shall 
immediately notify the department, and the license shall be terminated. 

8. The CMVL shall be kept aboard the vessel at all times while participating in commercial 
fishing activities and shall be made available for inspection upon demand. 
   
 

 
 

DAR, DLNR Copy (mail in to Division of Aquatic Resources) 
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